Home Internet Facebook Messenger to Add ‘Unsend’ Feature for All Users after Secretly Deleting...

Facebook Messenger to Add ‘Unsend’ Feature for All Users after Secretly Deleting Messages of CEO

122
0
SHARE
un2

Facebook today confirmed that it would add a new feature that will allow its users to retract the messages they’ve sent via Messenger.

According to TechCrunch, the ‘unsend’ feature will be available to all the Messenger users in the next few months. The news comes hours after the outlet reported that the social network had been quietly deleting the messages sent by its Cheif Executive Officer (CEO) Mark Zuckerberg sent via Messenger.

It, however, did not provide further details about the feature.

Facebook Messenger already offers a Secret Conversation mode which enables the users to set a self-destruct timer for the messages, but it all the recipients in the conversation are notified about the timeline of the expiry of their threat.

unsend1“We have discussed this feature several times. And people using our secret message feature in the encrypted version of Messenger have the ability to set a timer — and have their messages automatically deleted,” the company said in a statement.

“We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time. And until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner — and we’re sorry that we did not.”

The feature will be available to all the Messager users in the next few months.

 

While ‘unsend’ feature will be new to Messenger, Facebook has implemented it in other products in the past.

The company had added an unsend feature to Whatsapp last year, enabling the users to retract a text, video, or photo within an hour after sending.

The message not permanently disappears but instead a note “this message was deleted” appears in place of it.

Instagram also offers an unsend feature which allows the users to revoke a message simply by holding it and selecting ‘unsend’ button. The message in this case permanently erased from the history and recipient aren’t notified when it would be deleted.

un3Earlier today, TechCrunch reported that the old messages sent by Zuckerberg and other Facebook executives have disappered from inboxes of other users.

Tampering with user inboxes secretly is seen as a violation of Facebook’s privacy policy by many and is likely to further escalate the public outrage at the time when it is already under attack and facing multiple investigations over the reports that it allowed Cambridge Analytica to collect the data of its 50 million users during 2016’s presidential election.

The London-based political advertising firm, which worked with President Donald Trump’s campaign,  is alleged to have obtained the user information through a survey app and used it to create election ad-targeting tools.